world builder

I must be a rare breed. I am an idiot when it comes to 3D construction on the computer.

No matter how hard I try and how easy the programme can be, the massive amount of lines in XYZ planes zooming in/out of the monitor hypnotises me and puts me into a T-R-A-N-C-E.

It was definitely STRESSFUL during my graduating year when the entire cohort was churning out beautiful renderings and splashing them across 8A0 boards. Very Impressive.

I tried. I did all I could but I would end up all frazzled and dazed even on Sketch Up (NB: SketchUp is SUPPOSED to be idiot proof). In the end, I had no choice but to stick to my guts and soldiered on with my 2D.

Miraculously, I PASSED. That was 6 years ago.

W showed me this today and I was totally blown away. It is revolutionary. I dare not imagine how design processes and communications would change. Never before had Architects/Planners looked so cool and meaningful. But W asked me ‘What makes you think he is an Architect’. Indeed. Wouldn’t Architects be irrelevant? That got me thinking. If that video becomes reality, then what exactly is the value add of an Architect. Hmmm.

This video is truly awesome and I am sure you would be able to relate to it. Bruce Branit had managed to internalise the processes of the 3D Software *think Sketch Up* and expressed it through the human dimension. It is so intuitive. You must must MUST WATCH THIS. It’s a dream come true.

World Builder from Bruce Branit on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

