simple ham and cheese sandwich

breakfast sandwich-brie_spinach

Woke up at 6.50am today. Zombified.

Started making sandwiches yesterday and realized that I do not function well AT ALL in the early mornings, much less take a picture. I would stare at the ingredients before getting everything in mental sequence! Haha. OR I pace up and down the kitchen because I forgot something. AGAIN. I am totally inefficient! I guess this whole sandwich thing is rather new to me. Besides, on top of a lunch sandwich (left), I have to make another for breakfast too (right)!

Today, my experience is much improved. I devised a way. Hehe.

Prepare the key ingredients the night before and store them in a tiny tupperware box! It worked really well. I just need to lay them all flat on the bread and toast! Just remember the sequence of the ingredients to make sure they don’t fall out.

RECIPE

> Organic Spinach (salads type) & Watercress (wet market)

> Pepper Brie & Low Fat Mild White Cheddar

> Toasted Walnuts (chopped) & Organic Raisins

> Apple Baked Ham

> Japanese Mayonnaise

> Olive Oil (or Butter)

Oil the sides of the multigrain bread slices that would be in contact with the sandwich press, with Olive Oil. This gives the sandwich a crispy side. Spread a thin layer of Mayonnaise on the other side of the bread slices. Lay the spinach and watercress. Next, lay the cheese slices and sprinkle chopped walnuts and raisins on top. Lay the Ham. Top it off with the other bread slice and toast! I realised this sequence is better because the little crumbly bits of walnut would stick to the cheese and not roll off. Holds the greens too. Also, according to Panini Happy, it’s best to slice your bread half inch thick so that it doesn’t flatten out after toasting.

W told me it was delicious and W colleague commented that it looks PRO. Hehe. What followed was funnier. He asked W ‘so, your wife is working?’. Haha! Oh well.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “simple ham and cheese sandwich”

  1. Irene Says:

    Shu, you are my idol! haha….I am lost at those ang mo ingredients. Btw, did you get sourdough bread and where did you get the bread from?

    • trainride Says:

      Hehe, after a while, you’ll get used to the ingredients :) I get breads and stuff from cold storage or sun moulin in Isetan Scotts. NTUC also stocks freshly baked breads! I think the major supermarkets in towns or bakeries in holland village should have them. Will tell you if I find them!

Leave a Reply

