TWG 1837 Black Tea

tea

I love teas.

However, my tea experience is confined to the brands carried by our local supermarket eg Gryphon, Lipton, Dilmah and Twinings. My favourites are the usual Earl Greys, English Breakfast, Darjeelings, Green Teas and Chamomiles, and always in tea bags. I have a little collection of teas, to match the food I eat, my mood and time of the day. When I am stressed at work, teas calm me down. It has that kind of gentle effect which I credit to the tastes of my choice of teas.

There are occasional exceptions, like the wonderful Yuzu Green Tea (I love Yuzu) at 2am Dessert Cafe in Holland Village, the Brown Rice Teas and the amazing Matcha from Japan. However, I have never explored further than the local supermarkets because of my limited knowledge of brands available here and of course, costs. The last splurge was 4 years ago when I was in Paris and a friend had introduced ‘Fortnum and Masons’ Earl Grey Tea. Teas can be expensive. This led W to wonder which is more costly, beans to produce a cup of coffee (W is a coffee addict) versus tea leaves for a cup of tea.

Months ago, a wonderful friend bought me a bag of tea from TWG (my office farewell gift). That was it. I am lost for words. It spelt the end of my supermarket brands. It can be cruel, to be exposed to more wonderful flavours. It’s TWG’s 1837 Black Tea T6033. It’s a modern tea blend exclusive to TWG. It smells like strawberry cake and tastes so smooth that I kept refilling my pot with water. No leaves should be wasted.

tea_twg

You must try it. And stay tuned for another tea which L just bought me!

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “TWG 1837 Black Tea”

  1. TWG white tea house « trainride Says:

    […] This is the other amazing TWG tea that I have mentioned previously here. It is therapeutic just looking at the tea leaves and petals float in the pale olive […]

  2. Vanille Says:

    I think the tea served in 2 a.m. is by Gryphon Tea.

    • trainride Says:

      Hi vanille,

      Thanks for the info! I will definitely check out Gryphon. It sure beats buying the yuzu fruit which would cost a bomb!

  3. buzz me Says:

    tea from twg is absolutely awesome. my most fav is alexandria. one tea bag is good to go for two mugs of tea. usually i dry the tea bag and store it in the laundry bag to have the mint smell linger on for few days. my most fav!!

    • trainride Says:

      Hi Buzz,

      That’s a good idea, I’ve never tried that (both Alexandria & drying)! I should do that. Thanks for the suggestion.

  4. Calvert Sin Says:

    Hi, i’m a tea lover and alone myself i have more than 10 types of tea blend at home :D I’m a big TWG fan too. Yet i am having 1837 Black Tea now. Usually i have it after heavy meals. You can also try Silver Moon Tea from TWG. That’s my favorite and it usually sold out easily in Singapore. I like Gryphon too, my favorite from them is the Pearl of Orient (Rose buds with green tea).

    Hope more teas to come and share with us. :0)

    • trainride Says:

      Hi Calvert,

      Thanks for the recommendation! I’ll definitely give them a go when I get back to singapore. Meanwhile, I hope I’ll be able to test out more teas and share them with everyone :)

Leave a Reply

