joo chiat place

After meeting up with The Client in Telok Kurau, I would pop over to Joo Chiat Place to get my favourite ‘kim choo ba chang’ or have a bowl of ‘fei fei wanton noodles’. That was how I came across these interesting works lining along Joo Chiat Place. I love looking through the windows, doors and at the balconies. They say so much!

Joo Chiat area is a very old estate that is growing popular with the younger crowds. Going by the several A&A works that are going on and the cool upgrading of old properties, I am sure the property prices in the area are increasing as well. Argh.

JC-1

I particularly liked the dark brown unit on the ground floor (bottom left pic). There are some interesting art works within which I was tempted to ask the owner about but too shy to approach them. Haha. Note the sensitive take of creating a door perpendicular to the road instead of facing the road directly. Nice.

JC-2

THIS is really really cool (above pics). I could not have imagined doing up a shophouse in this way. Check out the landscaping too. Brave.

JC-3

This unit is next to the shophouse mentioned above. I thought the entrance facade has alot of character. Or maybe it’s the bench & motorcycle combi.

JC-4

I like it when the owners personalise the walkway with lots of landscaping and appropriate lighting. Throw in a bbq pit and the look is complete. Hehe.

JC-5

Thought this was funny. The only shophouse left standing like the movie ‘UP’?

Leave a Reply

