le timbre

Finally. With my food aversions gone. I am hankering for some serious French cuisine. I checked out some websites and found a few restaurants that I would love to try every weekend (provided W has no homework. Bleah). The weather is fantastic these days and I would love to throng the streets of Paris EVERYDAY to check out the nooks and crannies before I go back!

Le Timbre

We went to Le Timbre 2 weeks back. It was really good and it should be good since most customers were French except for us and 2 other Japanese ladies. Le timbre is in the michelin guide but I guess the reason why they don’t get stars is because you sit shoulder to shoulder, to the next guest. Yes. The restaurant seats only 24 persons and is so small that you stack the tables side by side. So to get in, you push the table out so that your partner can move in! But we’re fine with it. In any case, we were more happy to score a seat at 1pm (we called an hour earlier to reserve a seat though) because by 1.30pm, the restaurant was full!

Not in a fantastic chi chi location or wonderful front! OK. Maybe I was too hungry and impatient to get a better shot.

First time in a French Restaurant. Naturally I was excited but worried about stuffy french wait staff. However, the waitress was very friendly and made an effort to explain the menu to us in English. To do this, they’ll hold up an A1 size chalkboard with the day’s special, place it on the table and explain each item on the menu which is pretty amusing to me. After which, you’ll hold the board whilst she attends to something else and you make your decision. A 2 course meal (entree+plat OR plat+dessert) costs 22 euros whilst a 3 course (entree+plat+dessert) costs 26 euros. Very reasonably priced for the food that was to follow. W also ordered a glass of Cahor ’04 (4 euros) which the waitress recommended would go well with his food.

For the entree, I ordered a Pate made with bits of the pig’s head and fried. For the Plat, I decided on the duck’s breast which is cooked rose and is amazingly soft and juicy. To my disappointment, THE HUBBY insisted that I should eat thoroughly cooked food and so my duck went to his tummy instead! Argh.

W ordered a terrine which I very much preferred (W loves my Pate) and the Roast Pork for his mains. As a result, we swopped our orders completely. But I ended up liking the Roast Pork sitting on a bed of turnips which was soft and smooth. Nice.

Dessert!!! The jasmine infused chantilly cream on cone was amazing (pic left), so much so the elderly French couple next to us went ‘tres bien!’ and went on to talk to the chef. My millefeuille was good but alas, it was overshadowed by the stellar cream on cone. Mind you, the cone is not any normal cone but a biscuit that is fragrant and crispy.

The amazing 3 person team at work. And guess what. The chef (on the left) hails from Manchester which amused the elderly French couple next to us quite abit. I love such homey restaurants and I want to go back to Le Timbre to try out the other dishes too. Boudin Noir Pudding? Ok. Only when I muster enough courage to stomach a mound of mashed blood sausages.

Le Timbre

3 Rue Sainte Beuve Paris. Tel : 01 45 49 10 40 Nearest Metro : Notre Dame Des Champs

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “le timbre”

  1. Au fil des saisons « trainride Says:

    […] liked the food although W preferred the food at Le Timbre. I think this is traditional French whilst Le Timbre creates modern French Cuisine which is more […]

Leave a Reply

