Au fil des saisons

Our friends from London, QT and XH popped over to Paris for a visit over the Easter Weekend. We decided to meet up over dinner and once again, I revisited the many blogs and reviews webpages and decided on Au Fil des Saisons. Also, I had a secret mission to suss out the BEST Duck Confit in Paris (other than chocolates, macaroons, croissants, baguettes, escargots, foie gras, coq au vin, pot au feuille etc etc). Hence, after reading about THE Duck Confit that was slow cooked for 7 hours and topped with a slab of Foie Gras, I decided that this shall be the first duck confit to try.

Despite the reviews and all, I was surprised at the relatively empty restaurant. In fact, by the time we left, there were only us and 2 other couples. On a Saturday night! Needless to say, I was pretty worried that the food might not go well with our friends.

For entree, I ordered the escargots and for my Plat, the Legendary Confit de Canard (Duck Confit). W decided on an entree of foie gras with salad and the same Plat. YES. That is a humongous amount of foie gras and duck. Not exactly good for his heart! Gosh.

The escargots were tender though I would prefer them to be more savoury. But it’s addictive. W’s foie gras was huge! The texture was so smooth and tasty that I kept pinching it off his plate to go with my warm bread (They serve nice hot bread on skewers)!

To be objective, this is the first Confit de Canard I had tried in Paris so I am not sure if it is the best. BUT I really liked it. QT went ‘Wow, this is good!’ and proceeded to work on the dish leaving the bone bare and plate VERY clean. I remembered the one I had in Singapore was tough and dry. Au Fil des Saisons’s Confit had crispy skin with tender savory meat that comes off the bone easily. The melting foie gras added more depth to the flavour which I cleaned up with the meat and potatoes. I LOVE the potatoes and ate W’s share as well! The potatoes were nicely sauteed and had crusty edges to them! Gosh, I am drooling just writing about it!

For dessert, we ordered a trio of chocolate (white, milk and dark chocolate) that comes in egg cups with a cake on top and smooth liquid chocolate below. I love them all whilst the Dark Chocolate was the favourite with the rest.

I liked the food although W preferred the food at Le Timbre. I think this is traditional French whilst Le Timbre creates modern French Cuisine which is more interesting to him. I suspect the restaurant was empty because of its location (situated in an empty dark street) with a ‘country’ interior decor and raised prices. Hence what used to be ‘good value for money’ no longer apply. A 2 course meal now costs 31 euros (26 euros previously) whilst a 3 course meal costs 36 euros (31 euros previously) for dinner. Perhaps, they could only do the duck well. XH had ordered a chicken dish for her Plat. However, it was tough and wasn’t exceptional.

Nevertheless, I still think it is worth trying since I am still thinking about the Confit de Canard and chocolate trio until now!

AU FIL DES SAISONS
6 rue des Fontaines du Temple
75003 Paris
01 42 74 16 60
M° Temple ou Arts-et-Métier

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

