daily scream fests

officially ends this week!

Poor baby must have been traumatized by my mishandling in the initial few weeks of her life because she simply HATES HER BATH. The moment water touches her head, she lets out a scream that cries bloody murder. It is a wonder that until today, the neighbours haven’t reported me to any human rights group or the police! By the time the bath saga ends, she would be all sniffles and exhausted. It was quite a sight to watch and of course, my heart broke each time. She looked so sad! It got to the point when I hated bathing her and dreaded bath times. I even thought of doing dry wipes for as long as possible to make her forget her trauma. But alas, she is one sweaty baby and in our climate, baths are unavoidable. According to what I’ve read, the result of no baths would be heat rash and possible eczema!

I was so worried that she would hate water forever and wouldn’t learn to swim! That would mean no resorts, beaches and basic survival skills!  She may also develop issues and it would be ALL MY FAULT!

I have no idea what I did wrong. Perhaps I held her in a wrong way. I started out by supporting at the neck only and since babies are wriggly and very slippery, she was flopping around in the bath tub and I guess the experience was pretty unsettling for her. But I didn’t dare bathe her face down in her 1st month (in case I drop her) so I stuck with it for pretty long. I didn’t think it was the temperature too. I did some research on youtube and felt so guilty as I watch babies falling asleep or enjoying their bath times. When she got older and more sturdy, I tried every method. But because the psychological damage was done, nothing worked.

Finally, as the last resort, I did this. Voila! It worked!!! Victory dance.

I will hold her against me and shampoo her hair and body and talk/sing to her at the same time. After which, I’ll wash off the soap and lower her into the water to wash her bum. Of course I get wet as a result. And another person’s help is required in case she falls backwards. It has been working for 3 weeks now. But it was worth it. And yesterday, I could lower her immediately into the tub and wash her. I think this is because she is gaining control of her body so she is less afraid when she sits in the tub and could see her feet and the water in the bathtub. In fact, she likes it when water is splashed around! Whoopieee!!!

Time to bring out the rubber duckies!

 

2 Responses to “daily scream fests”

  1. bookjunkie Says:

    your journey is so interesting. It sounds like you are doing everything right for your cutie :)

  2. wy Says:

    so heartwarming babe… love the pics of nadia cuddled against you in the bath :)

Leave a Reply

